Pitiful March Wrap-Up and April TBR

I blame my lack of any reading whatsoever on Peter Pan, AKA the most disgustingly racist musical I’ve ever been a part of.

Because apparently it’s just hilarious to mock American Indians!

Har, har, bloody har.

Just in case you think I’m joking, here’s a list of the lines our “Native Americans” hollered across the stage like dying cows:

  1. Ugga wugga wigwam
  2. Ugga wugga meatball
  3. Ugga wugga ostrich
  4. Ugga wugga pirates
  5. Ugga wugga Hook
  6. Ugg-revenge
  7. And, of course, various pitches of primal screaming

But that’s quite enough of that for one lifetime, so now I’m never going to think about it again and instead get on with this post.

march wrap-up

I read a grand total of three books this month.

But let’s not dwell on that, because aggggghhhhh.

This book has admittedly gotten a lot of less-than-enthusiastic reviews, but me?

I think I’m going to have to write up another post on guilty pleasure reads!

Sure, I might have lost a few brain cells along the way, but this book is adorable and DIVERSE, which is all that really matters to me after Peter Pan.

Don’t hurt me, internet, but I reallllly don’t understand the hype!

I was enjoying Me Before You in the beginning but then nothing happened, and then nothing continued to happen, and that’s no good for a girl who is easily distracted and likes to daydream.

So, meh.

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, all things bookish, this is a masterpiece.

I am in love with this book.

I am soooooooo in love with this book.

I don’t even remember how to function, because this book, oh golly.

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh golly.

Words… are hard. This… oh, this is hard. I am no good at this.

Aggggghhhhhh.

I just need you to know that this book is amazing and beautiful and sooo goooood and read it, pleeeease read it.

Oh, this book.

This book.

You’ve got to know that when I am speechless, it’s got to be one heckuva book.

And it is certainly one heckuva book.

I… I’m in love. (Did I say that already?)

But now, TBR!

  • Stars Above by Marissa Meyer (which I’ve started and is amaaazing)
  • The Cage by Ruth Minsky Sender (which school has forced me to read and is horrific as well as terribly depressing)
  • Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (I’m hoping this one might be a tad less offensive than the Peter Pan musical?)
  • That SAT book that I have to study until my brain fills up with so much information that it bursts (what fun!)

Hopefully I do better than last month now that it is April and AMAZING BOOKS LIKE THE RAVEN KING ARE COMING OUT and everything is swell and bright and joyous.

Thanks for sticking around, my muffins. ❤

19 thoughts on “Pitiful March Wrap-Up and April TBR

  1. Don’t worry I’m in a bit of a slump right now too. I feel like it’s because I’m putting too much pressure on my self to complete my reading goal that I don’t want to read! It’s scary! So I recently started a new book and just dropped my other ones so that I can get a fresh start! Hopefully April will be better for both of us!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You got my full attention on that last book haha… Definitely adding it to my TBR! 😀 And yes, I totally agree!! Lots of awesome books are coming out on April like awesome chocolate rain, and I’m superb excited! *squeal* Hope you have an amazing April, and good luck with SAT! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! Oh, you’ll love All Our Yesterdays. It’s just.. wow. I wish that I had more time to read all of this month’s new releases! It’s like Christmas (but much warmer, to my personal delight)! And thanks so much, you wonderful human being! You have a good one, too!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Siren! I have that one on my TBR, I’m glad to hear it’s such a guilty pleasure, I can’t wait 🙂 It’s actually refreshing to see that you didn’t love Me Before You as much as anyone else, I was starting to think this book had a kind of spell in its pages, making everyone crazy about it, ahah.
    Have a great April, best of luck for your SATs! 🙂

    Like

    1. The Siren is just so adorable and mushy and delightful! As for Me Before You, I kind of wish it’d had some sort of magic in its pages. Maybe I’m just not.. sophisticated enough for it…? Either way, thanks! You have a lovely April, too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes!! I thought that it was a very creative spin on the typical version of sirens as mermaids, and made a seemingly predictable story be completely different from what I expected. Which made is soo good in my opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I know how you feel with not reading lots in a month, I only read two books in February… :Z But I’ll have to check out All Our Yesterdays! I love reading books other people loved!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I keep trying to tell myself that reading two really great books in one month is an accomplishment… I never do listen to me, though. 😅 I desperately hope you absolutely adore All Our Yesterdays, because that is just one big old, beautiful, perfect, emotional roller coaster ride.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. 1st I’m laughing about the racism of Peter Pan because just the other day we were watching one of those Disney singalong movies from the 90’s on YouTube and one of the songs was “following the leader”. I was telling my husband how much trouble Disney would be in nowadays if they were still making movies were children sing about being “off to fight the In-juns”.

    2nd, thanks for being honest about “Me before You”. I’ve seen that book all over Instagram so when I was at Barnes and Noble last week I thought I’d buy it but once I read the back and thumbed through it a bit I immediately was all wtf? This is what Instagram is into? Thanks but no thanks. Lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

