If I Don’t Read These in 2016… Get Furiously Angry at Me!

We haven’t even begun, and I’m already profoundly ashamed in myself, thinking about all of the books that will show up on this list. Ugh.

Well, it’s always nice to start off on a good foot.

1.days of blood and starlight

I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone in February of last year, I think. So, gaaahhhh, it’s been almost a year.

I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I finished it and then I was so excited to pick up the next one… and it dawned upon me just how immense Laini Taylor’s books are. It was a scary time.

I actually started Days of Blood and Starlight, but then there was an overwhelming amount of Zuzana. Don’t get me wrong, I love Zuzana, but there was no action at all.

Alas, I must try again this year.

2.queen of shadows

I just picked this one up, actually, and it’s sooooooo goooood, but I’m not finding so much time that I can read this monster in.

I love it, though!

…Except I’m hoping Rowan shows up soon. I really need some Rowan in my life just about now.

3.an ember in the ashes

I’d very much like to read this and love it and add great amounts of hype to the enormous pile of hype this book has already gathered.

Gosh, it sounds good!

4.maybe someday.jpg

I loved Confess.

And this one is about music!

There’s no way it could be bad.

5.six of crows

I adore the Grisha trilogy. I’m an idiot for not yet reading Six of Crows.

I just don’t know if my heart could stand a story that takes place in Ravka without any Nikolai.

6.the sword of summer

Haven’t read this one, either.

There are people I know who read about one book each year… and they’ve already read this book. Loved it, too. For the first time in who knows how long, somebody I know in real life was actually having a conversation about literature. And I just had to stand in the corner miserably, because I hadn’t read it yet.

What’s become of me?!

7.ice like fire

Snow Like Ashes is my love.

I started Ice Like Fire.

It was slow.

Please tell me it picks up.

8.city of ashes.

I’ve had to put this one on my TBR list again and again and again and no, don’t worry, I’ll get to it, it’s fine— but now it’s 2016 and I am going to read this one. Then, ideally, I’ll read the rest of the series.

As always, I make no promises.

Also, Shadowhunters is airing this month (I’M SO EXCITED!!!!!) and I have to be up to date with the show or it’ll kill me on the inside.

Yaaaaay, perfectionism.

9. the martian

So, pretty much, this list consists of every one of those so-much-hype-it-hurts books.

10.the winner's curse

It just sounds so good.

And that cover.

And forbidden love.

And how have I not gobbled this book up already?

11.these broken stars

Titanic in space.

Titanic in space.

TITANIC IN SPACE.

12.the rose society.jpg

Yet another sequel I’ve neglected.

I’m so sorry, book gods.

13.vicious.jpg

So, I was really excited about this book when I received it for Christmas.

Oh, a book about superheroes. That sounds awesome!

But I was naive, I tell you. After I ranted for a bit, I was promptly informed that this book is about supervillains.

SUPERVILLAINS!

Ohmygoodness, I need to read this now. Right now.

14.wolf by wolf.jpg

A girl competes in a motorcycle race so that she can kill Hitler.

Um, yes!

15.carry on

From what I’ve heard, I need to read this for Baz.

So I’ll go right ahead and read it for Baz.

Don’t forget to hold a huge grudge if I don’t read these books this year! Don’t be kind and squishy and lovely like you always are.

That would be counterproductive!

(Gee, I wonder why I never get anything done.)

29 thoughts on “If I Don’t Read These in 2016… Get Furiously Angry at Me!

  1. Queen of Shadows! Rowan! Fangirl over here! haha It’s sooo good!!
    I enjoyed Maybe Someday, I hope you too! And These Broken Stars too!
    I’ve in my TBR The Martian, Vicious and Wolf By Wolf. I’ve heard great things about all these books!
    And start The Mortal Instruments! For me it’s a series that gets better and better!
    Good luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YES TO ALL OF EVERYTHING SAID IN #5! I think I haven’t read Six of Crows yet because I’ll miss Nikolai. I know he won’t be there and that saddens me to the core of my readerly and loverly of Nikolai heart 😦
    GREAT POST! 😀 And happy new year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are so many books on this list that are on mine. I am reading Throne of Glass right now, and it’s pretty addicting (and I’m avoiding spoilers like crazy).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

