December Wrap-up and January TBR

I cannot process the fact that January is now upon us.

How did everything (yes, I mean you, Christmas break) pass by so quickly?

Ugh. Before I know it I’ll be thirty years old, stroking a pet llama, thinking it’s my long-lost pet dog gone rogue.

That’s just what happens.

But, for now, let’s get on with this whole wrap-up shenanigan.


december wrap-up.jpg

I read a grand total of seven books this month. I FEEL ACCOMPLISHED.

Maggie is the queen of literature. I have no issues about bowing down to the queen and begging for The Raven King to come already.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue was oh-my-goodness-the-most-amazing, as is to be expected.

As a huge fan of the Selection series, there was no way I wouldn’t love this book.

It was pretty interesting to see points of views like Maxon’s (whom I love dearly) and Aspen (who I loathe, in general).

I never even considered what it was like for Amberly in her Selection, though that’s mostly because her husband scares me. A lot.

Now, the wait for The Crown seems even longer, which is a terrible thing!

This book makes me so happy (basically, it’s the best).

It made me family happy (basically, it shut me up for a bit).

Even my dogs were happy (basically, there was some mysterious goop on my library copy and they greedily licked it all up).

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is like that.

It makes everybody happy.

I won’t lie, I was thoroughly freaked out by this book. Half due to the whole all-passengers-are-shot-in-the-head-there-are-four-survivors-one-dies-slowly-and-painfully situation… but also half because the narrator of this book gave me the heebie-geebies.

She’s so cold and unconcerned about anything but her revenge (but also hunky boys. She rather likes the hunky boys). I think I was supposed to sympathize with Frances, but I was just pretty uncomfortable the whole time I read this book, with her narration.

This one just didn’t do it for me.

A shame, too. The premise was so promising!

I liked this book more after my initial reading of it than I do now.

It was good enough, sure, but the writing is kind of choppy and the concept isn’t all that original.

I feel very meh, overall.

This book is kind of a masterpiece.

Oh my book gods, I love it so much.

Everything about this book is wonderful! Though I don’t know the author from a hole in the wall, I feel proud of her on a personal level for writing this beautiful thing.

Am I the only one who feels this way after they read a good book?

(Definitely, huh?)

Adorable, squishy, and lovely.

This is actually one of the few coming-of-age books I’ve enjoyed.

I just couldn’t help myself, it’s sooo squishy!

Believe me when I tell you that all of the squish can be found in this book.

Every single squish.

As for the whole TBR bit, I’d like to read:

And no more because school’s back, yaaaaaaaaay.

I’ll see you this time again next month with my newest wrap-up.

As always, prepare to be thoroughly disappointed!

8 thoughts on “December Wrap-up and January TBR

  1. Yes, WHY does it have to pass by SO fast. It scares me, and annoys me a lot. I don’t want to go back to real life, just stay on a break forever. Anyways, haha.
    I love the books you read this month! Emmy & Oliver was amazing, and yes, Simon just makes EVERYONE and everything happy, it’s so wonderful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We should clearly form a petition to warp the rules of time over vacation. We’ll go all out. Get the president in on it and everything.
      I’m pretty pleased with my December reading, too, if I do say so myself. But especially Simon. I couldn’t have picked a better book! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

