TOP 15 BOOKS OF 2015

I thought I’d make this more interesting by jotting down my favorite bits about each book right underneath it. Here goes.

15. to all the boys i've loved before

  • Kitty
  • Jamie Fox-Pickles
  • So cute
  • So fluffy
  • That cover!

14. emmy and oliver.jpg

  • So sappy
  • Drew
  • Caro
  • Caro’s siblings (I know I’m not really supposed to love them, but they’re so realistic and sarcastic and witty, it’s delightful)
  • What makes for a better love story than a kidnap victim returning home after ten years? …Right?

13. i'll give you the sun

  • Noah
  • Noah and Brian
  • GUILLERMO

12.confess

  • All that drama
  • All that angst
  • Did I mention the drama? Because, the drama

11.red queen

  • Bree
  • The princes
  • But especially Maven
  • Superpowers

10.anna and the french kiss

  • So sappy
  • So cute
  • So adorable
  • France, clearly

9.dosab

  • Angels
  • Demons
  • Akiva
  • Flawless world-building
  • An actual, real-life plot

8.simon!

  • Really sweet friendships
  • A character who is essential that-guitar-hippie archetype
  • LGBT

7.acotar

  • Lucien
  • Tamlin
  • Lucien-and-Tamlin
  • Protagonist who has to use her brain in order to save the damsel in distress
  • The fact that the damsel in distress is Tamlin

6.grisha trilogy

  • Nikolai
  • The younger of the two princes
  • Nikolai
  • Sturmhond
  • Annnnnd Nikolai

5. ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

  • First off, it’s a retelling
  • Aladdin, obviously
  • Caspida, who is the coolest Jasmine
  • The genie is the narrator!!!

4. throne of glass series 1-3

  • Aelin and Rowan
  • Manon and Elide
  • Dorian, my child
  • Goodness, this is maybe the best series, EVERYTHING ABOUT IT IS GOLDEN

3.winter

  • By far the best ending-to-a-series I’ve ever read
  • Loose ends masterfully tied up
  • Cinder and Kai
  • Thorne, in general

 

2.a monster calls

  • I sobbed
  • I sobbed like a baby
  • I sobbed like a baby during school hours
  • I sobbed like a baby during school hours and a teacher had to ask me if “everything’s okay, hun?” (Everything was not okay)
  • I read this months ago and my heart still hurts

1.the wrath and the dawn

  • THIS BOOK
  • IS GOLDEN
  • GO READ IT
  • OH PLEASE
  • IT’S SO GOOD
26 thoughts on “TOP 15 BOOKS OF 2015

  1. #12) I haven’t read this book but I LOVE the cover and I LOVE books with some good ol’ drama llama.
    #11) OH MY GOD I REALLY WISH I HAD AN ARC OF BOOK TWO BECAUSE I LOVED THIS ONE alas I am cursed.
    #8) Don’t worry I have this one on hold from my library. NOT TO FEAR, GUSHING FANS!
    #7) Does anybody else feel like Sarah J Maas is kinda sticking to that one-trick-pony assassin/kickass-heroine/magic/different world genre? I like it, but I’d also like something new. What is this one about?
    #2) I need to get this on my list now I am a sadistic person who loves to cry while reading. There’s something immensely satisfying about have an author rip out your heart and tear it to shreds while laughing amongst the falling pieces.
    #1) YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES times one million THIS BOOK IS AMAZING

    Liked by 1 person

    1. #12) Oh, yeah. If it’s drama you’re looking for, then you’ve definitely come to the right book.
      #11) Oh my goodness, I have the worst ARC envy for everybody with book two, those lucky stinking quacks! The rest of us are just left here, like, “Yeah. We read too, guys… guys?”
      #8) GOOD, VERY GOOD. READ IT ASAP AND THEN COME FANGIRL WITH ME!
      #7) Yesss. I sort of feel that way, too. I do like the books, don’t get me wrong, but they are a tad too similar for my tastes and that’s pretty much the only reason I didn’t rank it higher.
      #2) GO! GET IT ON YOUR LIST! YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY! IT’S TERRIBLE, BUT AMAZING! (Does that make any sense?)
      #1) RIIIIIIGHT?!?!?! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There are so many good books on this list! Doesn’t Throne of Glass have the most amazing characters? And Aelin and Rowan are the best together! I’ll Give You The Sun was probably my second favourite of the year after Queen of Shadows. Noah was the cutest!! I could probably talk about the rest of the books here but I’ll stop myself there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah J. Maas has got to be the queen of characters. And character development. But also just writing, in general. As for Aelin and Rowan, I will ship them until the day I die!
      And yessssss, Noah is so, so, so cute!! ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A great list! I’ve read 10 of these (including the series). I think my favourite would be A Monster Calls, but I enjoyed the others so much. Just thinking about Simon makes me smile, and I’m really looking forward to the sequel to The Wrath and the Dawn. I’m keeping everything crossed that it contains a lot more magic! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Goodness, A Monster Calls destroyed my heart. Probably some other iternal organs too, now that I think about it. Simon is so gosh-darn cute! As for The Wrath and the Dawn’s sequel, I’m slowly losing my mind, just sitting here and waiting.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I can see why you’d be wondering and all. I’m an inconspicuous kind of girl. 😉
      And A Monster Calls is just the saddest thing. Does Patrick Ness drink the tears of his readers for fun? I’m beginning to think so.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I’m so glad I picked these awesome books up when I was sauntering around my library last year! 😉 Best of luck to you in your bookish endeavors this year, too! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The fact that the damsel in distress is Tamlin- I was cracking up at this point xD

    Nikolai
    The younger of the two princes
    Nikolai
    Sturmhond
    Annnnnd Nikolai

    and right around that point ^^^ I died! IT’S SO TRUE THO! Nikolai was the best part of those books asldk;jflasjdf

    Liked by 1 person

  5. WINTER THOUGH!!! I just finished it yesterday, and AAAAHHHHH. That book was too fantastic for words, and I have more feelings right now than I can conceivably describe. I’m in a book hangover from that beauty.

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed! Usually, at least in my experience, concluding books are always a little bit of a letdown. WINTER WAS FLAWLESS, THOUGH. It just proves my theory that Marissa Meyer is the queen of writing. Well, Sarah J. Maas, too. Oh gosh, if they wrote a book together?! PERFECTION. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

