12 Days of Christmas Book Tag

Thanks so much to Paige over at Page by Paige for tagging me. Go ahead check out her blog, if you don’t already know and adore it!


On the first day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: a partridge in a pear tree.

The partridge stood alone in the pear tree. What is your favorite stand alone?

tfios

Okay, ugh.

Stand-alones tend to be absolutely amazing, and I have far too many favorites.

I’ll just pick out a book that everybody who is human is bound to adore. Bonus: I never actually talk about The Fault in Our Stars, because everybody else does so enough for me, ten times over.

But yaaaay, Christmas jolly happy times! Embrace the things (oh yeah, and people, too) that you love!

On the second day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: two turtle doves.

Love is in the air! Who is your one true pairing?

half bad.jpg

Okay, ugh.

These questions are excruciating on a personal level.

I have hundreds upon hundreds of OTPs, most of which come from literature, the other hundred of which come from the most random places imaginable.

I have a problem, really. I could be walking in a park and see, let’s say, two obese raccoons and think, “Ooh. They’d look good together.”

I’ll just go ahead with my most recent pairing.

It hasn’t happened yet, no, but Nathan and Gabriel must be together or my heart will shrivel up and weep forever. I don’t care what happens to Annalise in the slightest, as long as Nathan and Gabriel are very much together.

On the third day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: Three French Hens.

In the spirit of threes, what is the best trilogy you have read?

PicMonkey Collage (1).jpg

A diamond in the rough, this one is.

These books are superb,and I highly recommend that you go devour each and every one of them.

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: four calling birds.

Since series usually consist of four or more books, what is your favorite series?

Well, Harry Potter, obviously.

For the sake of not being too repetitive, though, let’s give these kids some spotlight:20151226_010442

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: five golden rings.

One ring to rule them all! Who is your Favorite Villain/Antagonist?

red queen

I won’t name names because, oh goodness, the spoilers!

I absolutely adore the villain in this book, though.

I was rooting for the villain, actually. Don’t get me wrong, that would be swell and all if Mare succeeds… but the villain is just so evil! It’s amazing! I really love when he gets the upper hand and puts Mare in awful situations!

The worst part is that I like Mare, too.

Oh, well.

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: six geese a laying.

Creation is a beautiful thing. What is your favorite world/world-building?

the wrath and the dawn

This wonderful piece of book has such vivid, lush descriptions of its setting. I felt as if I were right there, being slaughtering right along with Khalid’s countless dead lovers!

Honestly, though, I am in so love with this book and it is the best book and did I mention I love it so much?

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: seven swans a swimming.

Who needs seven swans when all it takes is one good animal sidekick? Who’s your favorite animal sidekick?

RavenBoys-most-recent

I would love to steal Chainsaw from Ronan, except for the fact that:

(a) Chainsaw would claw out my eyeball

(b) Ronan would then claw out my remaining eyeball

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: eight maids a milking.

Milk is so 18th century. Which book or series takes beverages/food to a whole new level? 

the sorcerer's stone.jpg

Butttttttterbeer!

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love sent to me: nine ladies dancing.

Dancing is just one skill of a Lady! Who is your favorite kickass female lead?

the son of neptune.jpg

Hazel doesn’t get nearly enough recognition for kicking the sorry tushes of her enemies.

Annabeth, however, does.

I choose both of them, the nasty fighting machines they are.

Mostly because they scare me but also partly because they terrify me.

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love sent to me: ten lords a leaping.

How about your favorite leading lad?the giver

I physically pains me not to immediately plaster up a picture of Siege and Storm and shout, “NIKOLAI!”

But I’m pretty sure I’ve convinced you, dear reader, of my love for Nikolai at this point.

I’m going to give best lad to Jonas this time around. He’s pretty great in this book, as one of two functioning human beings in his society.

Just think about that—I never like the functioning ones!

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love sent to me: eleven pipes piping. 

What is your favorite book or bookish thing with musical influence? (It can be about music, reference music a lot, etc.)

This is one of the more difficult things I’ve had to do on this blog.

You see, music is a huge part of my life, bigger even than the bookish part of my life.

I adore music with a crazed sort of zeal and it’s kind of my sustenance of sorts.

I’ve read several books that are centered around music (If I Stay, Where She Went, Open Road Summer, This Song Will Save Your Life, The Sky is Everywhere, etc.) and many more where the main character is said to be enamored with music (Throne of Glass, Fire, The Selection, All the Bright Places, etc).

Believe me when I tell you that none of these books even come close to describing what music means to me, as a fairly dedicated musician.

So. Nope. Um… Next question.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love sent to me: 12 drummers drumming. 

Drum roll please…what is your favorite read of this year?

2015 favorite reads.jpg

If I’m being honest, I was sure this list would go much further than a six-way tie.

I’m showing self restraint!

Woohoo!


Seeming that this holiday has just about come to an end, I won’t be tagging anybody… but Merry Christmas, dear reader! ❤

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas Book Tag

Leave a Reply

