‘Tis the Season Book Tag

Thanks so much to Alysyn at Rein Reads for tagging me! Alysyn has a lovely, lovely blog that I highly recommend you take a peek  (or two, or three) at. This tag was created by Richard Denney, whose video you can find right over here.

I, personally, am unreasonably excited for Christmas. Christmas is my favorite thing and I usually start to get really excited about its onset just about when October begins.

Suffice to say, by this point, I’m euphoric.


1.Do you have a favorite winter read?

snow like ashes

Intimidating pictures of chakrams always remind me of the importance of peace and joy and family we’re to appreciate at Christmastime.

Also, snow.

2. Find a book with blue on the cover!

red queen

I don’t necessarily talk about this book as much as I should.

That goes to show how much of a doofus I am, because this book is a wonderful, wonderful thing and that plot twist, ugh!

If you haven’t read Red Queen, I am envious of your spoiler-avoiding abilities, but also, go read it, peasant (I must be wildly popular with my readers!).

3. Find a book you’d use as the star on a Christmas tree!

raven king

I’ll go ahead and explain my reasoning:

(a) It has a gorgeous cover, but that reasoning is too simplistic, so…

(b) If I do, in fact, use this book as the star on my Christmas tree, I can pull it down, read it in one sitting, and return it before anybody notices, because…

(c) I need this book in my life and its lack of being in my life hurts my soul greatly.

4. Pick one fictional place that would be perfect for a winter vacation!

queen of shadows

I’m fully aware that Erilea shouldn’t be a place I want to visit, because it’s pretty much the worst place to be… but when Aelin gets her throne back, I’d really like to visit Terrasen.

But I’d also try and actively avoid Aelin.

I’ve found that people who are more sarcastic than me frighten me greatly.

5. Pick one fictional character you’d take with you on your winter vacation!

siege and storm

Any question that begins with “pick one fictional character” will forever end with, “NIKOLAI!”.

6. Name one book on your wish list this year!

A Darker Shade final for Irene

The hype around this book is so immense that it’s practically malleable.

That being said, there’s a large chance I’ll absolutely detest this book. I do tend to have issues with books that are actively adored by folks everywhere.

I have a feeling you might have picked up on that little fact, though.

7. Favorite holiday drink, treat, & movie?

I’m not really a fancy sort of lass.

Hot chocolate is fantastic.

Um, cookies. Cookies are good.

And, er, Whiplash always puts me in that warm, fuzzy, holiday mood

Heh, heh.


I tag:

See you next time, dear reader and MERRY CHRISTMAS, IT’S ALMOST HERE, AHHHHH!

22 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season Book Tag

  1. Thanks for this. I read all of these except Snow like Ashes (though I really really want to) and the Raven King. Started on The Raven Boys, but I just couldn’t get into it. And…hopefully you love ADSOM when you read it. It isn’t out of this world fantastic, but it is really good.. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Lila! I think you will too.

    Like

    1. Ooh, I can’t wait until you read Snow Like Ashes. It can drag a bit, but it’s pretty amazing. The writing style of the Raven Boys is pretty odd, too. It took me a bit to get into it. But who is the Lila you speak of? Now my interest is piqued. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe I was just having an off day, but I couldn’t get into The Raven Boys. I just….I don’t even know. As for Lila, she is one of the main protagonists. She is an orphan who doesn’t remember her past or family, but she is a pickpocket thief in London and she has dreams of becoming a pirate with her own ship. There is much more to her, like her sarcasm, sassiness, and attitude, but she is the highlight of the book for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup me too! Haha well it killed the king as well :p I absolutely loved the twist- it was so well done!! I wasn’t surprised by it (I kind of hoped it would happen) but I thought it made for an incredible plot and a brilliant villain!! Loved it!

        Like

      2. Haha no, I just thought it was a bit of plot hole, so began to pick up the clues- it’s actually just clever writing for Aveyard to have subtle foreshadowing like that 🙂 Oh not at all- he makes an excellent villain!

        Like

    1. That’s definitely a Christmas I’d awkwardly barge in on and creepily sit there as a third wheel at! I always find a way to make things… interesting. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

