Summer Madness Book Tag

It’s still technically summer, right?

Thanks so very much to Laura at Lala’s Blog for tagging me! I’ll skip over the usual quips and jump right into the tag (Hey, don’t worry! The puns will arrive shortly, I promise).

Show a book with a summery cover.

winter

Oh, wait. I was supposed to be serious? I’m awfully bad at being serious, I’ve found, but I will do so because I love you, dear reader.

this is what happy looks like

By golly, there’s a sun and everything. You simply cannot get more summery than that.

Pick one fictional place that would be the perfect destination for a summer vacation.

the lightning thief

There’s just no competition here. Camp Half Blood, hands down.

I don’t care what my birth certificate says— my father is Hermes!

I’m just waiting for you to claim me, Dad. Anytime now. Can you come with my Hogwarts acceptance letter? You know, the one that got lost in the mail… Dad?

You’re about to go on a flight to your summer vacation, but you want to read a book that lasts for the whole flight. What novel do you choose?

days of blood and starlight

This monster of a book wouldn’t simply last me a flight. It would last me for at least sixteen days after the flight, unless I’m reading for, say, 20 hours each and every day. In that case, it might just take fifteen.

You have a case of Summertime Sadness. What happy book do you pick up to shine a smile on your face?

the distance between us

This book made me feel happy and melty and bubbly and lovely on the inside.

Caymen is almost as sarcastic as I am! I respect that.

Also, I’m such a sucker for banter.

You’re sitting at the beach all alone. Which fictional character would be your beach babe?

siege and storm

Nikolai, Nikolai, Nikolai. My God, I love Nikolai.

Nikolai, come. Be mine.

Can I just… take him?

To match your ice cream, you want an icy cool sidekick! Which fictional sidekick do you pick?

leviathan

Can I have Deryn as my sidekick?

Wait just a minute…

Can I be Deryn’s sidekick?

Share the Summertime Happiness! Who do you TAG?

If you’ve not yet done this tag, dear reader, consider yourself tagged! Enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Summer Madness Book Tag

  1. I just did a summer tag a few days ago too. Trying to get them out of the way before summer is officially over, LOL. Deryn is awesome, it would be impossible to be bored with her around. Can’t wait for Winter! Currently reading Siege and Storm, but I’m not very far in and have yet to learn the identity of this “Nikolai.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have no idea how glad I am to find somebody else who loves Deryn! I’ve quite literally never met another soul who has read the Leviathan series. Ah, and you’re in for a pleasant surprise if you haven’t yet met Nikolai. Just wait, my friend. Nikolai’s a-comin’.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A few years back I was obsessed with Leviathan. I’m really hoping Scott Westerfeld writes a spin-off series or something because I’d love to hear about what happened to Alec and Deryn after the end of the last book, or just see more of that alternative history where the series is set.

        Unfortunately, I haven’t had much time to read today so I still haven’t met Nikolai. Something to look forward to when I have more free time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I completely understand that obsession! I absolutely fell in love with the Leviathan series, too. I don’t think I’ve come across a heroine as impressive as Deryn since I read those books.
        When you do get some free time, I’m hoping you’ll love Nikolai just as much as I do! Er, well, maybe not quite as much. I’m a tad obsessive, to be honest. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, and it’s not just the characters, but the world building too. I found all the genetically modified creatures so interesting, and the pictures were a great addition.

        I wouldn’t want to take Nikolai away from you, LOL. I went to one of the author’s book signings a few years ago where I’m pretty sure everyone was talking all about him, but it’s been too long and I can’t remember. Now what I’m wondering is why I waited so long after that signing to read the author’s books (it’s been like three years).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

