The TBR Book Tag

This marks a historic day on The Literary Hellion. As you may have guessed by the title of this post, I’m doing a tag. As you may not have guessed, it’s my very first book tag. Huzzah!

That being said, I would like to thank the wonderful Analee from Book Snacks for tagging me. A TBR tag seems appropriate, as my to-read list is so very enormous. It’s as if every time I turn my back on it, a few more books sneak in there.

And without further ado, I present to you, dear reader, the TBR tag.

How do you keep track of your TBR pile? 

Definitely, definitely Goodreads. Without Goodreads, I would have been drowned in my ever-growing to-read pile. Or I’d have been buried alive, perhaps. Anywho, I’m awful at keeping track of things and I’m absolutely dreadful at organization. Goodreads is a blessing, really. It’s just so nifty.

Is your TBR mostly print or eBook?

Print, hands down. I’m not a fan of eBooks. They’re really convenient and everything, but nothing beats having a physical book in your hands. I just adore the feeling of the pages under my fingers and, gosh darn, the books even smell fantastic.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

Me: What book do you think I should read next?

My dog starts chewing on a book I dropped.

Me: Awwww, who’s a smart dog?

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?

hobbitIt’s probably a sin to be an avid reader and not have read this. Every time I think I might pick it up, I don’t. I know that once I’ve read The Hobbit, I’ll have to read the Lord of the Rings books. Seeming I have little to no free time these days, we’ll just have to wait and see how that goes. I might get to it within a couple of… ten years.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

breadcrumbsMostly because it’s about a bookish sort of child and, dear reader, just look at that cover.

 A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

a thousand pieces of youI genuinely have no idea what this book is about. That cover, however, is the most gorgeous cover and I want it to be mine. Can I just… take it?

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

maximum ride

I’ve heard nothing but bad things about this book and it really doesn’t pique my interest. Frankly, it sounds pretty terrible. I’m thinking maybe I should take this off of my to-read shelf… but no. I want to look back in couple of years and laugh at the fact I ever considered reading this.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

books books books

All of the books, all of the time.

Oh, you wanted specifics?

To list a few: Winter by Marissa Meyer, Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard, and Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch.

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?

these broken stars

Aside from being tremendously popular, These Broken Stars sounds spectacular. It’s the Titanic in space! Anything is better when you put it in space!

Also, as with any and every sci-fi novel I read, I’m hoping Spock, Han Solo, or Mal Reynolds will make an appearance.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

ava lavenderThis one is kind of self-explanatory. As for me, I’ll definitely get to it someday.

Eventually.

…Maybe.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

an ember in the ashes

I have heard only good things. The premise seems amazing. Marie Lu liked it!

I cannot wait to read this book. I need it now.

How many books are on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

Oh boy.

Before I check, I’d like to say, Too many.

Turns out there are 581 books on my to-read shelf.

Now that I’ve checked, I’d like to say, Too many.

I guess I should probably go through and take off a few books… I’m looking at you, Maximum Ride.


I tag:

Susanne @ susannevalenti

Lucia @ Reading with Lucia

18 thoughts on “The TBR Book Tag

      1. It has the biggest plot twist at the end I was so blown away. I bought it on a flash sale before I knew anything about it so when I went into it not knowing the plot it made it all the better.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes definitely. I don’t think the other two have much to do with the first so they should be ok but I would stay away until you read the first one just in case. 🙂

        Like

  1. Glad to see someone else that’s yet to read The Hobbit! My partner keeps trying to push it on me due to his love of LOTR, but I keep pushing it aside for other things that come my way. It sure does look pretty on the shelf, though.
    Additionally, I nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award! If you choose to participate, feel free to check out my questions to you at this post here!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great answers! I’m so glad you did the tag. 🙂

    Yes for A Thousand Pieces of You!! That cover is so darn gorgeous, I could stare at it all day! And I’m with you with all of those unpublished books you named! They all seem so good. And I can’t wait ’till you read An Ember in the Ashes! It’s an awesome book. I’ll be looking forward to what you think of it once you get around to reading it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait until I read An Ember in the Ashes, too! I’ve heard so, so, so many great things about it! And as for those unpublished books, I just got my greedy hands on Six of Crows today. So WordPress probably won’t be seeing much of my face until I devour the whole thing. Am I obsessed? … Maybe.
      But, hey, what’s the fun in life if you’re not obsessed with a thing of sorts (said no sane person ever)? 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

