Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series Review

lightning thiefPercy Jackson has always found that he’s been different and he heads to Xavier’s School for— oops, that’s not right. Hmm. Percy Jackson has always found that he’s been different and he heads to Hogwarts to—

No?

Whoops.

Let’s try once more. Third time’s a charm, right?

Percy Jackson has always found that he’s been a bit different but he’s getting along fine, for the most part. Of course, that’s when he’s attacked by his math-teacher-turned-Fury and his mother is kidnapped by the Minotaur. Those two, of course, are only about .01% of the creatures that want Percy’s head on a plate. Percy makes his way to Camp Half-Blood, where he learns that his father is Poseidon and that he was never even supposed to be born… Surprise! Throughout the series, Percy goes on various quests and has run-in after run-in with horrifying monsters, and makes the occasional ally in the midst of those (hundreds? thousands?) who want to brutally murder him.

I read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series a long while ago. I now find I cannot accurately distinguish the events of one book from the next, hence the whole intimidating “series review” you see in this post’s title. My opinion on these books is actually quite simple, for a change.

They’re wholly magnificent.

Don’t get the wrong idea, now. This isn’t one of those series that is magnificent in its grace and poise. Not even one bit. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is downright hilarious and that’s what makes it so very fantastic. In reading this series, there’s a good chance you will giggle and chuckle and snort- all those good things- to the extent that you will be confused for a dying cow.

I should know. It’s happened to me several times.

The Percy Jackson series is very dear to me, as a reader. Along with Harry Potter, it’s the series that started me thinking, “Hey, maybe books aren’t so bad,” as opposed to my earlier thoughts of “Books are for nerds.” I’ve found years later, I still believe books are for nerds. I’ve also found that it’s a heckuva lot of fun being one.

Percy Jackson himself is hilarious. The predicaments he finds himself in are hilarious. His friends, they’re hilarious too. And Percy’s luck? I’ll give you one guess.

It’s really just pitiful.

One of the things Percy faces on a daily basis are monsters. These kind aren’t exactly the type to hide under your bed at night, though. The monsters Percy faces are entirely Greek. They’re from Greek mythology but somehow, Riordan modernizes them so well that you wouldn’t be able to tell the difference if you didn’t know the myths.

If you don’t know the myths, though, you really need to go learn about them. Go, shoo.

Over the countless adventures, I feel it’s impossible not to fall in love with Percy (that would be me) or at least acquire a deep admiration for him (that would be anybody smarter than I). With all he has to go through, it’s a wonder he’s still up and running, let alone cracking jokes the whole while.

You’re an inspiration to us all, Percy. Why did you ever have to grow up, huh?

Oh, don’t fret. I hope I speak for all, or at least the vast majority, of my lovely readers when I say we still love you.

Keep on fighting, Percy.

5 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series Review

  1. Lol confused for a dying cow, lol. These and the Heroes of Olympus series are wonderful. I wish the Kane Chronicles was as great as these and that it had more books. The story doesn’t seem complete to me.

    Like

    1. The Heroes of Olympus is so gosh darn amazing! I was also pretty disappointed by the Kane Chronicles. They were alright, but in no way comparable to Percy Jackson and the Olympians.
      I’m just crossing my fingers that Rick Riordan works his magic on his newfangled Magnus Chase series!

      Like

Leave a Reply

